Free Shipping on Cookers. SHOP NOW

Barrel House Cooker Reviews

Everywhere we go, people tell us over and over again how cool they think the Barrel House Cooker is and how impressed they are with the high quality craftsmanship of the product and the results it produces. But don’t take our word for it, read what others have to say below.

Stars
By Kerry Keeton [Verified Owner] on April 9, 2018 - BHC 14D
I have been cooking on the 14D for over a year now and it has become my go to cooker at home and it also handles the first stage of the rib cook at competitions. I have several smokers and grills and they have all felt neglected since I got this one. Tri tips hung in this thing are insane! I just hang it until internal reaches 135, take it inside and slice it. Perfect medium rare every time. Ribs cook evenly and the flavors are amazing. Cook time is also greatly reduced compared to traditional offset smoking. 2 of my friends in the office ordered 14D's on my recommendation and both absolutely love them. Neither of them had any previous smoking experience. These barrels are as close to "set it and forget it" as you can get cooking with charcoal and wood. I cant say enough good things about them. Every time i am at a comp and people start asking me about them, i turn into a salesman, LOL! They are THAT good. I now have an 18C as well and it is right on par with the 14D, just with more capacity. Right now my team competes with 2-18Cs, 1-14D, and a 55 gallon Gateway. We are seriously debating getting another 18C and retiring the Gateway.
Stars
By Jarod T [Verified Owner] on April 2, 2018 - BHC 18C
Got my BHC in March and have cooked on it 4 times (BrisketWhole ChickenWingsVeggies) I am very impressed at how well it sits on one temperate for hours at a time without messing with it. Set-up took about 20 minutes and it was ready to go. Everything I have made has turned out great. I am not experienced with smoking so its nice that BH provides detailed instruction on how to cook things if you're a first timer like me. Highly recommended.
Stars
By Burleigh [Verified Owner] on March 30, 2018 - BHC 18C
The best cooker I've ever used. My son keeps coming up with things to cook, he actually uses it more than I do. My favorite is ribs they come out so tender!!
Stars
By Timothy Grandon [Verified Owner] on March 29, 2018 - BHC 18C
Love the Smoker it's really easy to use. I've used it 4 times so far it's works better than any thing else I've tried. The only complaint I have is wish it came with a second full grate or have one available to buy. (BHC RESPONSE: The full grate and other parts will be available soon online.)
Stars
By on March 27, 2018 - BHC 14D
Pork butts looking good brisket on point..4 hours so far on 8lbs charcoal and apple wood
Stars
By Charles Heath [Verified Owner] on March 25, 2018 - BHC 18C
I love it in the process of buying another one
Stars
By Aaron [Verified Owner] on March 23, 2018 - BHC 18C
I've only had this a short time but have smoked ribs, pork loins and a brisket. This thing is amazing and virtually effortless. Hands down easiest charcoal smoker I've ever used. Might have some of those electric pellet guys coming back to the way its supposed to be done.
Stars
By Dale schauer [Verified Owner] on March 16, 2018 - BHC 18C
5 STARS. NO COMMENT.
Stars
By Mic [Verified Owner] on March 12, 2018 - BHC 18C
5-STARS. NO COMMENT.
Stars
By Robert on March 11, 2018 - BHC 14D
I've had my cooker for a bit over a year, and like it a lot. The three best things (compared to other drum cookers) 1) emptying ash is far easier 2) smaller capacity than most drums makes it perfect for my family, consumes less fuel, yet allows a larger cook for a dozen 3) double-sided fuel basket for short vs. long cooks.
Stars
By Figo Cosi [Verified Owner] on March 9, 2018 - BHC 18C
Amazing product used by John selemo (bigjohnsbbq) Of IG wonderful consistency love the product but lack of accessories for the 18c are My only issue
Stars
By Philip Efron [Verified Owner] on March 9, 2018 - BHC 14D
I love this barrel but would like to see some adjustability in the exhaust ports. In order to throttle down to 225-250 I find myself stuffing something in the predrilled holes. Despite this I do love the quality of this barrel. Customer service is great as well. I say great job!
Stars
By JayWorldPeace Smoke n BBQ [Verified Owner] on March 3, 2018 - BHC 18C
I recently Added the BHC 18C to my arsenal of smokers. I have A gas grill, an electric smoker, a Komodo, and another wood smoker. This is my new favorite for many reasons. First off the appearance is awesome. The rugged handles and legs it stands on it sturdy and well made. I chose to do a brisket as my first cook to really test out how it handles. My goal temp was 250 degrees who maintained with a 1-5 degree fluctuation the whole cook, which when burning real fire is unbelievable. I used My own temp probes to compare to the provided thermostat and learned it was extremely accurate, which isn't the case in so many smokers on the market today. My absolute favorite is the easy portability of the smoker. Take it anywhere, and the cleaning is super easy. Hanging meat is new to me, and with a 14 lb brisket I thought I would need to use the provided rack to lay it on. Turns out when you use a few of the provided hooks it hangs easy. I then thought, how can I wrap my meats. I simply removed the meat off the part it was hanging on, kept the hooks in place, wrapped around it, used butcher rope and hung it back. No difference from any other Cooker I've used, other than using rope to wrap it, since i can't lay down. I love Everything about this smoker. The value is awesome, they give you plenty of racks and hooks which many companies will not provide. I cook A lot and have a lot of experience, smoking great meats. This is not only a great addition to my cooking arsenal but it will most likely be my go to smoker! Lastly, their customer service is very personal and awesome. They care about you, your thoughts, and the fact that you're happy. Buy it if you're thinking about it and I guarantee you will love it.
Stars
By Larry [Verified Owner] on March 1, 2018 - BHC 14D
Everything I have cooked on my new Barrel house cooker has turned out great, ribs, chicken, steak and tomorrow a brisket. It is a very versatile cooker. May have to do a turkey before Thanksgiving. I am very pleased with this cooker.
Stars
By Peter [Verified Owner] on March 1, 2018 - BHC 18C
Food is great, but the paint around the charcoal basket flaked off and the metal under began to rust after the first use. I wonder if this is going to hold up.

[BHC Response: We worked with Peter to get him a new base and the new one seems to be holding up. Please be advised that the base is not rust proof, so it's recommended to minimize the exposure to the elements, including but not limited to rain, snow, high humidity, and sprinklers.]
Stars
By Bonnie [Verified Owner] on February 28, 2018 - BHC 18C
4-STARS. NO COMMENT.
Stars
By Bob Wharton [Verified Owner] on February 28, 2018 - BHC 18C
Glad to add the 18 inch Cooker to my collection. Allows larger amounts of great food (whole briskets, pork shoulders and prime ribs) to be prepared for large groups. Handles 8 racks of ribs at once too. It is true to the smaller cooker with more flexibility. Great price, too.
Stars
By Steven autry [Verified Owner] on February 26, 2018 - BHC 18C
Brought this product had an issue with it call the 1-844-508-2665 and the person I talked to replace my item with out any issue. My friend brought one and told me about it and I did and at first I thought it was a mistake but this is the best grill I've ever had. Cooked some steak on it didn't use the grill just hung the meat and left cans back to check once in a while and the steak came out so good. My family loves them my girl was b****ing at me for getting something that looked dumb but she didn't complain any more after she taste the steaks. My friend cooked a rack of ribs and they came out really good this is worth the money. Thank you for a great product a customer from Gainesville Ga
Stars
By Jay Waxler on February 16, 2018 - BHC 14D
After seeing the Barrelhouse Cooker at the March Meet display, I was going to pull the trigger on buying, but my wife beat me to it. What a great cooker! We’ve done quite a few racks of ribs and your instructions to not use too many (if any at all) wood chips is spot on. We’re still experimenting with different meats and it’s really an easy cooker to use. Will stop by the display at Famoso and buy some more accessories. ....and thank you for answering any questions we’ve had. Appreciate the product support!
Stars
By Jeffery bobineaux [Verified Owner] on February 6, 2018 - BHC 14D
This thing is amazing.
Stars
By Mrs.Lynn-Smith [Verified Owner] on January 21, 2018 - BHC 14D
Bought it for my husband for Christmas and it was great! Easy to assemble and use.
Stars
By Marcia M on January 18, 2018 - BHC 14D
We purchased a smoker just before Christmas. And was surprised how fast it got here. Yeah!! After the first time we used it we have decided how much we love it! And it holds the temperature. Don't need to use a lot of coals or wood. It will over smoke meat if you use too much. Lesson learned. We own a Treager, a Green Mountain, a Weber and a Char-Grille (which has been modified). But by far the barrel is my favorite! We have recommended it to several of our friends. Oh yes, we are both BBQ judges and we work with some amazing Pitmasters. Very pleased and happy with the barrel!
Stars
By sam [Verified Owner] on January 8, 2018 - BHC 14D
I found the BarrelHouse cooker company website sometime in 2016. The minute I saw it and watched many of the videos, I could tell this was a quality product at a reasonable price compared to many other cookers I have seen , some less quality YET cost more. I purchased (2) of these smokers as Christmas gifts and had them sent to my two adult sons. One in Tennessee and one in Louisiana. They have used them and are most impressed. Especially one of my sons who is a Professional Chef who teaches classes at a culinary college.
Stars
By Clarence [Verified Owner] on January 5, 2018 - BHC 14D
We bought a Barrel House Cooker as a Christmas present for ourselves. Received it promptly as advertised, and I was impressed with the quality of the components. I bought the Barrel House Cooker because I wanted a unit that was practical for cooking for a couple, and after using it, think it's perfect for cooking for 2-6 people, without wasting charcoal and taking up far more room in the shed. I followed the directions, and the chickens and pork loin I did came out exactly as the recipe indicated. Temperature control was not an issue, as with many other charcoal smokers. I just set it and watched it, but could have walked away and come back only to remove my fully-cooked meat. The instant-read digital thermometer made verifying cooking completion a snap. The accessories are also very good quality. All told, I'm a very satisfied customer!
Stars
By Victor [Verified Owner] on January 2, 2018 - BHC 14D
Loving it. I picked this one because it has the best and most features. Having access to fire box by lifting off the Barrel is a fantastic system