Free Shipping on Cookers. SHOP NOW

Barrel House Model 14D Reviews

Everywhere we go, people tell us over and over again how cool they think the Barrel House Cooker is and how impressed they are with the high quality craftsmanship of the product and the results it produces. But don’t take our word for it, read what others have to say below.

Stars
By Winston Stroderd [Verified Owner] on April 25, 2018
I am 72 years old and have cooked outside a lot....never have I eaten better meat off of a pit as this one.....it is so simple.
Stars
By Kerry Keeton [Verified Owner] on April 9, 2018
I have been cooking on the 14D for over a year now and it has become my go to cooker at home and it also handles the first stage of the rib cook at competitions. I have several smokers and grills and they have all felt neglected since I got this one. Tri tips hung in this thing are insane! I just hang it until internal reaches 135, take it inside and slice it. Perfect medium rare every time. Ribs cook evenly and the flavors are amazing. Cook time is also greatly reduced compared to traditional offset smoking. 2 of my friends in the office ordered 14D's on my recommendation and both absolutely love them. Neither of them had any previous smoking experience. These barrels are as close to "set it and forget it" as you can get cooking with charcoal and wood. I cant say enough good things about them. Every time i am at a comp and people start asking me about them, i turn into a salesman, LOL! They are THAT good. I now have an 18C as well and it is right on par with the 14D, just with more capacity. Right now my team competes with 2-18Cs, 1-14D, and a 55 gallon Gateway. We are seriously debating getting another 18C and retiring the Gateway.
Stars
By on March 27, 2018
Pork butts looking good brisket on point..4 hours so far on 8lbs charcoal and apple wood
Stars
By Robert on March 11, 2018
I've had my cooker for a bit over a year, and like it a lot. The three best things (compared to other drum cookers) 1) emptying ash is far easier 2) smaller capacity than most drums makes it perfect for my family, consumes less fuel, yet allows a larger cook for a dozen 3) double-sided fuel basket for short vs. long cooks.
Stars
By Philip Efron [Verified Owner] on March 9, 2018
I love this barrel but would like to see some adjustability in the exhaust ports. In order to throttle down to 225-250 I find myself stuffing something in the predrilled holes. Despite this I do love the quality of this barrel. Customer service is great as well. I say great job!
Stars
By Larry [Verified Owner] on March 1, 2018
Everything I have cooked on my new Barrel house cooker has turned out great, ribs, chicken, steak and tomorrow a brisket. It is a very versatile cooker. May have to do a turkey before Thanksgiving. I am very pleased with this cooker.
Stars
By Jay Waxler on February 16, 2018
After seeing the Barrelhouse Cooker at the March Meet display, I was going to pull the trigger on buying, but my wife beat me to it. What a great cooker! We’ve done quite a few racks of ribs and your instructions to not use too many (if any at all) wood chips is spot on. We’re still experimenting with different meats and it’s really an easy cooker to use. Will stop by the display at Famoso and buy some more accessories. ....and thank you for answering any questions we’ve had. Appreciate the product support!
Stars
By Jeffery bobineaux [Verified Owner] on February 6, 2018
This thing is amazing.
Stars
By Mrs.Lynn-Smith [Verified Owner] on January 21, 2018
Bought it for my husband for Christmas and it was great! Easy to assemble and use.
Stars
By Marcia M on January 18, 2018
We purchased a smoker just before Christmas. And was surprised how fast it got here. Yeah!! After the first time we used it we have decided how much we love it! And it holds the temperature. Don't need to use a lot of coals or wood. It will over smoke meat if you use too much. Lesson learned. We own a Treager, a Green Mountain, a Weber and a Char-Grille (which has been modified). But by far the barrel is my favorite! We have recommended it to several of our friends. Oh yes, we are both BBQ judges and we work with some amazing Pitmasters. Very pleased and happy with the barrel!
Stars
By sam [Verified Owner] on January 8, 2018
I found the BarrelHouse cooker company website sometime in 2016. The minute I saw it and watched many of the videos, I could tell this was a quality product at a reasonable price compared to many other cookers I have seen , some less quality YET cost more. I purchased (2) of these smokers as Christmas gifts and had them sent to my two adult sons. One in Tennessee and one in Louisiana. They have used them and are most impressed. Especially one of my sons who is a Professional Chef who teaches classes at a culinary college.
Stars
By Clarence [Verified Owner] on January 5, 2018
We bought a Barrel House Cooker as a Christmas present for ourselves. Received it promptly as advertised, and I was impressed with the quality of the components. I bought the Barrel House Cooker because I wanted a unit that was practical for cooking for a couple, and after using it, think it's perfect for cooking for 2-6 people, without wasting charcoal and taking up far more room in the shed. I followed the directions, and the chickens and pork loin I did came out exactly as the recipe indicated. Temperature control was not an issue, as with many other charcoal smokers. I just set it and watched it, but could have walked away and come back only to remove my fully-cooked meat. The instant-read digital thermometer made verifying cooking completion a snap. The accessories are also very good quality. All told, I'm a very satisfied customer!
Stars
By Victor [Verified Owner] on January 2, 2018
Loving it. I picked this one because it has the best and most features. Having access to fire box by lifting off the Barrel is a fantastic system
Stars
By Nathan C. on December 28, 2017
Very skeptical at first. How can this thing do everything they claim at a cheap price? I don't know and I don't care! It is awesome!!!! Got it as my early Christmas present after searching for a replacement for my kamado which, after decades of service, has almost died. RIP big blue. I needed something versatile that could give me a good pit boss flavor without the $1500 to $5000 price tag. I found this company and took a risk. Sometimes you get a big payoff. That was a week ago when I did a slab of ribs for the first time on it. Perfect. So perfect I loaded it in the truck and took it to the in laws for Christmas and did a turkey in it. No one has had dark meat like that. Perfectly crisp skin the whole way round. Used applewood chips for a smoker style kick, and did a bourboncranberry glaze, wow! Perfect. A bit over 12lbs bird in 2-1/2 hours. My first tri tip is in it now. It's a keeper for sure! Thank you!
Stars
By L.J. Murphy on December 19, 2017
I have been smoking meats for years, I currently have 4 smokers, but the Barrel House is by far the best and easiest to use. Follow the directions and you will look like a pro. You truly can light it, set it and let it do its thing. I would recommend it to anyone I know
Stars
By Jeni [Verified Owner] on December 13, 2017
I ordered a smoker yesterday and paid extra for 3 day shipping. They called to tell me the free ground shipping would get it to me inthe same time frame so they were refunding me the over $80 I paid for shipping! What great customer service. I haven't even received it yet and I am thrilled with my choice of what and where to buy! Thank you!
Stars
By Troy [Verified Owner] on December 8, 2017
Best in the business
Stars
By Ira Murchison [Verified Owner] on December 6, 2017
Easy to use, with great results!
Stars
By Burton Dietz [Verified Owner] on December 3, 2017
Awesome smoker! Great value!
Stars
By Barry [Verified Owner] on November 27, 2017
I usually don't write reviews, but this cooker works so well, I felt like I had to. It is just as easy to cook with as claimed. Simply light the charcoal, set the damper to your elevation, load the meat, watch the meat thermometer and remove meat when done. No adjusting air intake dampers or exhaust dampers. Virtually foolproof cooking! Mine maintains cooking temperature for about 6-1/2 hours on 6# of charcoal. It's the easiest to use cooker I have used to date. I love it!
Stars
By Ferdie on November 27, 2017
Never used a smoker before..This Smoker is so ez to use and the chicken came out fantastic..My family is now asking what am I going to smoke next..We do have a list of things..Love the BHS..Get one!!!
Stars
By Bonnie S. [Verified Owner] on November 25, 2017
I have smoked on my conventional smoker for years spending many hours tending to fires and adjusting heat. I did a test run last week using 4 chickens of approximately the combined weight of a turkey I was going to smoke. The plan was to give each of two neighbors a whole Turkey. After my wife and mother in law tasted the smoked chickens the neighbors each got a half instead of a whole. Lol. I used the same recipe for the smoked Turkey. Needless to say, I was the hero of the dinner. All I could hear was wow, with a lot of finger smacking. Thanks Barrel House Smoker The Coach, El Paso Texas
Stars
By Jaime G. on November 18, 2017
I learned about the BHC from a friend. I was extremely skeptical of this thing that I thought was just junk, but boy was I completely wrong! The BHC is not anything fancy or flashy but is simply BBQ genius. It has this "magical power" to make darn good BBQ. I watched as my friend prepared and cooked ribs in no time, doing nothing special. The BBQ was undeniably delicious. I could'?t believe that he cooked ribs, chicken, and tri-tip with such good flavor that easily. After witnessing this I was impressed. I took back all the dumb things I had said and bought my own. For the quality of BBQ that comes out of the BHC it was a total bargain. I like to think I practically stole it. Don't make that $1400 mistake like I almost did. This cooker produces some of the best smoked BBQ I've ever tasted. The BBQ from the BHC will stand up to any BBQ cooked in those name brand high dollar pellet things. It's so easy to use and operates at such a low cost yet produces fantastic Que. The BHC takes very little effort and a lot less of your time. I can put it in the back of my 2010 Toyota Corolla and cook anywhere I want. It takes little to no space so it's not bulky and in the way. I could go on and on. My family loves it, my friends love it. The Barrel House Cooker Co is BBQ GENIUS !!
Stars
By Dana Wilson on November 17, 2017
The BHC makes the most novice a "Pit Master"! I have been watching the BHC at the car show for a couple years and a buddy dissuaded me but after sampling a chicken leg then a rib bone, I had to pull the trigger. On the way home I bought a tri tip and was amazed. Then came ribs, chicken and more ribs. It's so portable, I threw it in the car and took it to the office to shame the office "rib king" (the same buddy who tried to dissuade me!) Now he owns one as well as 9 others from the office. Flavor, simplicity and portability, what else can you ask for other than a party size BHC? You may see a few Traegers on Craigslist.
Stars
By Warner Detrick [Verified Owner] on November 17, 2017
The cooker was exactly as described, easy to use and clean. I especially like being able to remove the charcoal base for filling and cleaning. Service was excellent. Good product.