Free shipping on cookers. SHOP NOW

Barrel House Reviews

Everywhere we go, people tell us over and over again how cool they think the Barrel House Cooker is and how impressed they are with the high quality craftsmanship of the product and the results it produces. But don’t take our word for it, read what others have to say below.

Stars
By Steve Ritchey on February 13, 2017
I have used an offset smoker for years and loved them. My wife and I started downsizing and I decided that The Barrel House Cooker looked like a good option to what I have been using. I was wrong it?s a great option, wished I would have switched earlier. Thanks for such a great product.
Stars
By Harold Turner [Verified Owner] on February 6, 2017
I own a gas grill, a 26" Weber, and a offset smoker. I was considering a pellet smoker when I ran across this product on Facebook. I saw the videos and read the reviews and decided to give it a shot. I couldn't be happier with my purchase. My first attempt was a 5 lb Prime Rib on the middle rack. I took it off when the internal temperature reached 135 degrees. I wrapped and let it set until reached 145 degrees. A perfect medium to medium rare. It got rave reviews from my dinner guests. For Super Bowl Sunday I smoked 3 slabs of ribs. I was a little leery of hanging meat, but a first time for everything. I added a few chunks of Hickory and Pecan wood. I was dealing with rain mixed with snow and the BHC had no issues maintaining a steady temperature. Ribs on my Weber tend to come out dark, but these had a beautiful sheen and a perfect smoke ring. In retrospect I wish I could have left them on another 30 minutes, but I was pressed for time to deliver to the ribs to a Super Bowl party in time for kickoff. The BHC is now my go to Smoker. Plus it will free up my gas grill and Weber for other duties when I host a party. My offset smoker might rust before I use it again.
Stars
By James B [Verified Owner] on January 25, 2017
I was 68 my last birthday. I have used charcoal grills,water smokers, and offset wood smokers for over 25 years. You can't really BBQ. on a charcoal grill. The meat comes out overcooked and dry. The meat burns on a water smoker. An offset wood smoker produces wonderful smoky flavor. It takes a lot of attention though. You have to fiddle with air vents, wood supply, and the meat you are cooking. I've had one for 11 years. I just bought a new one. I was seriously looking at a ceramic smoker Kamodo Joe or Big Green Egg that would require less attention and create more consistent results. However Those smokers are $2,000.00 I saw your ad for the Barrel House Cooker while I was researching ceramic smokers. Your advertisement of set it and forget it interested me. I thought "Yeah, Right" The price of $350.00 delivered with a guarantee and return convinced me. I ordered one. I've had it about two weeks. It arrived assembled. I had it out of the box and smoking in 20 minutes. Follow the directions. It works. I have smoked meat on it nearly every day in that two weeks.Two whole chickens at once. Two whole briskets at once. Pork shoulder pork butt. And ribs.I bought 24 racks of ribs. My smoked ribs have become famous here. All came out perfect. Just light the fire and add the meat. Everyone I know wants me to BBQ for them. There is no fiddling with vents, wood, temperature or anything else. I am convinced. I still have my new offset smoker. I haven't used it since the BHC arrived. Thank you for a wonderful product that works exactly as advertised.
Stars
By Brian [Verified Owner] on January 24, 2017
I have been an avid user of a propane bbq. It works great however, it's nothing like the Barrel House Cooker. I was skeptical at first when I found out the source of heat was charcoal. That means messy residue when one is done cooking, with the potential of getting burned (since you have to lean over and in) when lighting and/or cleaning up after done using the unit. But the geniuses at BHC took that into consideration when developing the cooker. How? Removable base. This makes lighting the charcoal easy and hassle-free, and clean-up even quicker and cleaner (you don't have to buffalo the unit to try to dump out the charcoal carefully as one piece). When it comes to actually cooking on the unit no bbq can compare. I literally placed the meat on the hooks, hung it inside and waited for it to be cooked. Not a burnt piece of meat. Just juicy, perfect meat that did not have to be babysat. If you're looking for a compact, set it and forget it cooker, look no further. The Barrel House Cooker is just that.
Stars
By Anthony [Verified Owner] on January 24, 2017
First of all let me say, the Barrel House Smoker cooks excellent meat. In fact, it's because of the quality of the cook that I have decided to keep the smoker and not send it back. So why rate this product a 3? The cooking capacity is way to small. Seriously, without purchasing another upgrade, the smoker will only cook 6 maybe 7 wings. Also, I haven't figured out yet why I paid extra for a thermometer. It seems to me that a thermometer should come standard for 2 reasons. First, most grills come equipped with a thermometer and second the BHS does not cook with a regulated temp. Last, the 2 piece rack is great, when hanging meat and coming something else, but for cooking a Boston Butt the BHS should come equipped with a solid rack. This is coming from a guy who experienced half the rack drop into the coals. As you can tell, I have great frustration with the BHS, however, I was looking for something that cooked juicy great tasting meat with very little maintenence and the BHS has accomplished that purpose.
BHC COMMENTS: We're so glad you had great results with the food. The extra cost associated with the BHC Deluxe is for the thermometer, yes, but also the hinged lid, Open Frame, and Handle Shelf. The thermometer is there to be more of a temperature baseline than a regulator. The BHC will fluctuate some in temp throughout the cook, and that is part of the process. When cooking a large piece of meat, like a Boston Butt, on grates, something we suggest trying is using the H-Frame instead of the Open Frame under the grates. The H-Frame will fit on the middle level with the two half grates on top of it. It will provide a bit more support and security when cooking lots of food on the grates in the middle. Just be sure that the two stand-off points are facing up when in the cooker to ensure the grates fit in securely.
Stars
By Emily M. [Verified Owner] on January 19, 2017
My family and I love bbq, but we have always struggled to get it right at home. We received this as a gift, and weren't quite sure what to think of a barrel cooker. For the first cook we tried some chicken and were blown away by the results. We followed BHC's directions, and it was so flavorful yet still so juicy! We're such bbq newbies that we're still getting the hang of it, but we've done mac & cheese (YUM), pulled pork (delish), tri-tip (so tender), turkey, and some other stuff. I can only imagine what someone with bbq know-how could do with this thing. I totally recommend it for anyone looking for an easy smoker.
Stars
By Jonathan Burgess [Verified Owner] on January 19, 2017
Received the Deluxe Barrel House Cooker as a gift and was hesitant to cook with it as I am used to gas grills. This cooker was so easy to use and the flavor of the food was juicy and delicious! Tri-tip will never be the same! I was able to hang 2 tri-tips with plenty of room to spare. What a wonderful addition to our outdoor BBQs. Highly recommended!
Stars
By Allison O. [Verified Owner] on January 16, 2017
This was "hands down" the best (and easiest) BBQ experience ever! Let me first say I am not an experienced chef, or even that great of a cook...I rarely BBQ because I am afraid of it resulting in wasted money on meat due to over or under cooking. The first thing I attempted was a large tri-tip on Christmas day (crazy right?)...it turned out to be absolute perfection! Everyone was so impressed with the meat and I was the hero of Christmas Dinner ) My husband now says I am the official BBQ'r of the family. If only everything in the kitchen could be this easy!!! I am so happy with the ease of this cooker and I am so excited to try new recipes! If I can do this and receive rave reviews, any one can.
Stars
By Angela [Verified Owner] on January 10, 2017
My husband loved it and the ribs were awesome!!!
Stars
By Steve [Verified Owner] on January 9, 2017
I was so impressed with mine, I gave them to friends for Christmas!
Stars
By Craig [Verified Owner] on January 6, 2017
I have only been able to use my cooker 1 time since I got it during the holidays. One thing I think would be a big improvement is the ability to stack 2 boston butts by having more room between the top rack and the lid. I bought a vacuum sealed 2 pack of butts and the lid would not shut so I was left with the only option to cook the butts side by side. I had to cook the butts longer but they turned out great with a first time use of pecan wood chips that created a great mild flavor! Cant wait to hang my ribs next! The height from the top rack and the lid is my only issue and other than that the cooker is great! (BHC Comments: The center rack is best for cooking these larger pieces of meat. The heating dynamics will cook it evenly. The top rack is best for smaller finger foods or fish. If you have any other questions please let us know.)
Stars
By Cathy [Verified Owner] on January 4, 2017
This was my husbands xmas present,however we are in Mt. where the temps are way below zero now, so we will have to have to wait a bit to try it out. Right now it is inside a closet keeping warm.
Stars
By Brian D. [Verified Owner] on January 3, 2017
This is an amazing smoker. So far, I've used it to make some beautiful ribs, prime rib, chicken thighs and drumsticks, smoked lamb shoulder, and more. And the customer service is top-rate. I would recommend this product to any bbq'er, beginner or advanced.
Stars
By Paul J. [Verified Owner] on December 31, 2016
Simply the easiest way to smoke meat. I've done ribs, pork shoulder, turkey, chicken, tri-tip, brisket, etc... It all turned out excellent! If you haven't purchased one of these yet, what are you waiting for! Best BBQ purchase to date! Awesome!
Stars
By James Whitt [Verified Owner] on December 12, 2016
wow mind blown... easy to use and great end product I highly recommend the Barrel House Cooker to everyone that likes or loves gillin, smokin, or eatin!!!!!
Stars
By Wayne [Verified Owner] on November 29, 2016
Did my first cook with a turkey and it turned out awesome. This will be my go to cooker for turkeys and few other meats as well.... loving it
Stars
By Mike [Verified Owner] on November 24, 2016
We had won $100 off the deluxe model through The Bearded Griller contest and decided to order along with the stainless half grate. It's maiden voyage was smoking a 15lb brisket. Couldn't believe the simplicity of how to run it without babysitting the coals. Did a pizza the very next day and it turned out amazing. And today I smoked a 10lb turkey and the results amazing. I would strongly recommend this product to anyone. In fact a cousin of mine had seen my Facebook posts of the food I had been making and he decided he wanted one for thanksgiving. During the ordering process we asked that a thank you note be written on the box thanking the person who had the giveaway that we won. No questions asked it came exactly as we asked. Great product, great sales. If I could 10 out 10 stars.
Stars
By Charlotte M [Verified Owner] on November 22, 2016
My family LOVES the Barrel House Vertical Cooker!! I purchased this for my husband's birthday gift and it has been one of the best gifts I have ever gotten him! We have made tri tips, whole chickens, ribs, and more in it. Every time the meat comes out very tender and delicious. When we have people over and they try the meat from it they tell us it is the best meat they have ever had! We just ordered the new turkey attachment and are excited to start a new tradition and cook our turkey in our Barrel House!!! Customer service is excellent and the quality of the products are as well. I HIGHLY recommend this product. You will NOT be disappointed
Stars
By Gregg snyder [Verified Owner] on November 21, 2016
I love your product it's a great little smoker
Stars
By Duey Whitfield [Verified Owner] on November 21, 2016
It is like a crockpot for men! Incredible cook times! All around, best thing on the market!
Stars
By Chris McGlasson [Verified Owner] on November 17, 2016
Cooked my first whole chicken on my Barrel House cooker yesterday evening and it was absolutely DELICIOUS! Incredibly easy and simplistic to use and I could not be more pleased with my new purchase. Highly recommend this product to both the novice and experienced backyard chef.
Stars
By Victor Herrera [Verified Owner] on October 25, 2016
Everything I cook comes out great. Tri-tip, ribs, chicken, potatoes. I love it!
Stars
By Dwight Garland [Verified Owner] on October 22, 2016
Found these guys at the March Meet and simply put the best ribbs I have eaten. I currently own a gas grill and a barrel drum smoker and I have not used eather of them since my new barrel cooker has arrived. Can wait to bring this baby to the 2017 March Meet and cook for the crew. Stop by the NE 2 pits for some delicious BBQ ! Thanks Barrel House !!!!!
Stars
By Adam Tyson [Verified Owner] on October 20, 2016
Firstly it looks great and makes a nice feature on my patio, which I don't think can be said for most other BBQs. I'm impressed with how much you can cook inside it, the whole system is so efficient that I can keep cooking with the same charcoal for many hours. Everything cooks great without drying out and has a nice flavor, even with very little seasoning. I really appreciate the temperature gauge on top as it keeps reassuring me that things are cooking inside. The cleaning up is straightforward as the charcoal burns down to a fine ash and everything that the food cooks on cleans up really easily. I generally leave everything in overnight to cool off, then after a quick soak everything wipes straight off. This is the first BBQ I've owned and has quickly become my favorite thing to cook with.
Stars
By Andrew Dallas [Verified Owner] on October 13, 2016
Simply put, this cooker is amazing! I was looking for something low-maintenance since I'm not exactly a BBQ pro but this one is almost too easy. I've cooked racks of ribs, a whole chicken, tri-tip, and I even cooked a pizza the other day. The meat cooked evenly every time and was so juicy and tender. The pizza turned out crispy and delicious, better than it cooks in my oven. I'd like to say I'm pretty good at this BBQ thing now, but I have to give all the credit to this cooker!