Free Shipping on Cookers. SHOP NOW

Barrel House Cooker 14D Reviews

Product Photo

Customer Reviews

Stars
162 Reviews, 4.94 out of 5 stars

Filter by:

Sorted by most recent reviews:

Stars
By Bill Little [Verified Owner] on June 20, 2018
So far I've used my 14d three times. The first was chicken, second ribs, and the last time a pork butt. All came out great with incredibly minimal effort. The only hard part is the waiting. I do wish there was an option to have a grate 1/2 way down the smoker to put things on. The grate that comes with it only works immediately over the coals or at the top where there is very little room. (BHC NOTES: There is a middle level on all our cookers.)
Stars
By Rob [Verified Owner] on June 12, 2018
I've had the 14" Barrelhouse for about 6 months now. I've been trying to beat it up but it's winning! Spare ribs, baby backs, plate ribs, pork loins, shoulders, belly, meatloaf, chuck roast, tri-tips, almonds, salt, pizza, vegetables and more! The damn thing just keeps on producing flavorful, tender, juicy meals! Time after time! My poor gasser is so lonely I found a little tree squirrel in it the other day!? My favorite cook on the Barrelhouse is reverse seared tri-tips and all varieties of ribbies! It has passed the torture test with flying colors! The customer service at Barrelhouse is top notch as well. Wether on a phone call, email or social media. They are quick to answer and always excited to share any new news or recipes! Keep up the good work Barrelhouse! -Squatch
Stars
By Vincent on June 12, 2018
If i could give this a 10 star i would. I absolutely love it. I am very happy with it and looked at ao many other smokers and the price and reading up on it was the best decision to make.
Stars
By MikeP [Verified Owner] on June 6, 2018
This is the best outdoor cooking device that I've ever owned! Easy to use, easy to start, meats turn out juicy and smokey! I love it!
Stars
By Mark [Verified Owner] on May 31, 2018
Great piece of equipment. First used with 3 racks of baby back ribs. They came out better than perfect if that’s possible. The smoker is very well made and easy to use. Looking forward to using it again all summer.
Stars
By Jesse Colin [Verified Owner] on May 30, 2018
I have enjoyed the cooker very much. It is very easy to use and food has turned out delicious. Ordering on line was very simple as well. The only issue I had was the website would not let me add the thermometer to my order.
Stars
By Justin [Verified Owner] on May 28, 2018
I have had the barrel house cooker for three weekends now and have used it every weekend. We've smoked chicken, tri-tip, brisket, ribs, and everything was great. Very easy to use also. Couldn't be happier with the cooker
Stars
By Winston Stroderd [Verified Owner] on April 25, 2018
I am 72 years old and have cooked outside a lot....never have I eaten better meat off of a pit as this one.....it is so simple.
Stars
By Kerry Keeton [Verified Owner] on April 9, 2018
I have been cooking on the 14D for over a year now and it has become my go to cooker at home and it also handles the first stage of the rib cook at competitions. I have several smokers and grills and they have all felt neglected since I got this one. Tri tips hung in this thing are insane! I just hang it until internal reaches 135, take it inside and slice it. Perfect medium rare every time. Ribs cook evenly and the flavors are amazing. Cook time is also greatly reduced compared to traditional offset smoking. 2 of my friends in the office ordered 14D's on my recommendation and both absolutely love them. Neither of them had any previous smoking experience. These barrels are as close to "set it and forget it" as you can get cooking with charcoal and wood. I cant say enough good things about them. Every time i am at a comp and people start asking me about them, i turn into a salesman, LOL! They are THAT good. I now have an 18C as well and it is right on par with the 14D, just with more capacity. Right now my team competes with 2-18Cs, 1-14D, and a 55 gallon Gateway. We are seriously debating getting another 18C and retiring the Gateway.
Stars
By on March 27, 2018
Pork butts looking good brisket on point..4 hours so far on 8lbs charcoal and apple wood
Stars
By Robert on March 11, 2018
I've had my cooker for a bit over a year, and like it a lot. The three best things (compared to other drum cookers) 1) emptying ash is far easier 2) smaller capacity than most drums makes it perfect for my family, consumes less fuel, yet allows a larger cook for a dozen 3) double-sided fuel basket for short vs. long cooks.
Stars
By Philip Efron [Verified Owner] on March 9, 2018
I love this barrel but would like to see some adjustability in the exhaust ports. In order to throttle down to 225-250 I find myself stuffing something in the predrilled holes. Despite this I do love the quality of this barrel. Customer service is great as well. I say great job!
Stars
By Larry [Verified Owner] on March 1, 2018
Everything I have cooked on my new Barrel house cooker has turned out great, ribs, chicken, steak and tomorrow a brisket. It is a very versatile cooker. May have to do a turkey before Thanksgiving. I am very pleased with this cooker.
Stars
By Jay Waxler on February 16, 2018
After seeing the Barrelhouse Cooker at the March Meet display, I was going to pull the trigger on buying, but my wife beat me to it. What a great cooker! We’ve done quite a few racks of ribs and your instructions to not use too many (if any at all) wood chips is spot on. We’re still experimenting with different meats and it’s really an easy cooker to use. Will stop by the display at Famoso and buy some more accessories. ....and thank you for answering any questions we’ve had. Appreciate the product support!
Stars
By Jeffery bobineaux [Verified Owner] on February 6, 2018
This thing is amazing.
Stars
By Mrs.Lynn-Smith [Verified Owner] on January 21, 2018
Bought it for my husband for Christmas and it was great! Easy to assemble and use.
Stars
By Marcia M on January 18, 2018
We purchased a smoker just before Christmas. And was surprised how fast it got here. Yeah!! After the first time we used it we have decided how much we love it! And it holds the temperature. Don't need to use a lot of coals or wood. It will over smoke meat if you use too much. Lesson learned. We own a Treager, a Green Mountain, a Weber and a Char-Grille (which has been modified). But by far the barrel is my favorite! We have recommended it to several of our friends. Oh yes, we are both BBQ judges and we work with some amazing Pitmasters. Very pleased and happy with the barrel!
Stars
By sam [Verified Owner] on January 8, 2018
I found the BarrelHouse cooker company website sometime in 2016. The minute I saw it and watched many of the videos, I could tell this was a quality product at a reasonable price compared to many other cookers I have seen , some less quality YET cost more. I purchased (2) of these smokers as Christmas gifts and had them sent to my two adult sons. One in Tennessee and one in Louisiana. They have used them and are most impressed. Especially one of my sons who is a Professional Chef who teaches classes at a culinary college.
Stars
By Clarence [Verified Owner] on January 5, 2018
We bought a Barrel House Cooker as a Christmas present for ourselves. Received it promptly as advertised, and I was impressed with the quality of the components. I bought the Barrel House Cooker because I wanted a unit that was practical for cooking for a couple, and after using it, think it's perfect for cooking for 2-6 people, without wasting charcoal and taking up far more room in the shed. I followed the directions, and the chickens and pork loin I did came out exactly as the recipe indicated. Temperature control was not an issue, as with many other charcoal smokers. I just set it and watched it, but could have walked away and come back only to remove my fully-cooked meat. The instant-read digital thermometer made verifying cooking completion a snap. The accessories are also very good quality. All told, I'm a very satisfied customer!
Stars
By Victor [Verified Owner] on January 2, 2018
Loving it. I picked this one because it has the best and most features. Having access to fire box by lifting off the Barrel is a fantastic system
Stars
By Nathan C. on December 28, 2017
Very skeptical at first. How can this thing do everything they claim at a cheap price? I don't know and I don't care! It is awesome!!!! Got it as my early Christmas present after searching for a replacement for my kamado which, after decades of service, has almost died. RIP big blue. I needed something versatile that could give me a good pit boss flavor without the $1500 to $5000 price tag. I found this company and took a risk. Sometimes you get a big payoff. That was a week ago when I did a slab of ribs for the first time on it. Perfect. So perfect I loaded it in the truck and took it to the in laws for Christmas and did a turkey in it. No one has had dark meat like that. Perfectly crisp skin the whole way round. Used applewood chips for a smoker style kick, and did a bourboncranberry glaze, wow! Perfect. A bit over 12lbs bird in 2-1/2 hours. My first tri tip is in it now. It's a keeper for sure! Thank you!
Stars
By L.J. Murphy on December 19, 2017
I have been smoking meats for years, I currently have 4 smokers, but the Barrel House is by far the best and easiest to use. Follow the directions and you will look like a pro. You truly can light it, set it and let it do its thing. I would recommend it to anyone I know
Stars
By Jeni [Verified Owner] on December 13, 2017
I ordered a smoker yesterday and paid extra for 3 day shipping. They called to tell me the free ground shipping would get it to me inthe same time frame so they were refunding me the over $80 I paid for shipping! What great customer service. I haven't even received it yet and I am thrilled with my choice of what and where to buy! Thank you!
Stars
By Troy [Verified Owner] on December 8, 2017
Best in the business
Stars
By Ira Murchison [Verified Owner] on December 6, 2017
Easy to use, with great results!

Review Barrel House Cooker 14D