Free Shipping on Cookers. SHOP NOW

Barrel House Cooker 14D Reviews

Product Photo

Customer Reviews

Stars
197 Reviews, 4.95 out of 5 stars

Filter by:

Sorted by most recent reviews:

Stars
By John Verkaik [Verified Owner] on January 24, 2019
I love my new Barrel house smoker. I've only used it a handful of times, but I love how easy it is to use and low maintenance.
Stars
By Doug [Verified Owner] on January 24, 2019
Best smoker money can buy,easy to use and does a GREAT job.
Stars
By Scott [Verified Owner] on January 13, 2019
My friend purchased the 14D and we used at a party at my house in November. The pulled pork from a perfectly smoked pork butt was a huge hit at the party. So, my wife surprised me with my very own 14D for Christmas. Everything I've made (chicken, pork butt, and ribs) in the short time I've owned it has come out excellent. The cooker is practically fool-proof and is easy to set up and use.
Stars
By Kurt [Verified Owner] on January 11, 2019
This is my first smoker. Watched a lot of videos. Have done ribs and chicken (different start times) together. Still need a little work on timing. I have also done a pork loin. That came out GREAT! I like the "little" 14D since it's just me and my wife at home. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to try making smoked food at home. I know it's not a "smoker" but it makes good, smoked food. Planning on some type of beef this weekend (only have time to use it on the weekend). A lot of things to consider making if you watch youtube videos.
Stars
By [Verified Owner] on January 10, 2019
(5 STARS. NO COMMENT.)
Stars
By Felix P on January 3, 2019
I love this cooker, ease to use, clean up, and food comes out perfect and tasting great.
Stars
By Julie Moore [Verified Owner] on January 1, 2019
Gave my husband this for Christmas. He looked into other brands and chose this for our needs, family of three. So far he has made chicken breasts, whole chickens, ham, pork chops and tonight a London broil. All turned out fantastic! I highly recommend this 14 inch smoker. Great results right out of the box.
Stars
By Steve [Verified Owner] on December 24, 2018
Absolutely love my Barrel House 14D! Smoked some ribs the other day, and they were the best ribs I've ever cooked!
Stars
By Steve [Verified Owner] on December 20, 2018
GREAT COOKER ENJOY COOKING GREAT FOOD WITH THIS COOKER
Stars
By jeff on December 11, 2018
the best
Stars
By Roger on December 4, 2018
I bought my barrel house in January for a Xmas present to myself. I LOVE this smoker!! First....the lower charcoal basket is the best! Easy access to the charcoal for long smokes to add wood and charcoal. Remove the top part and BOOM....access. No having to pull the food out and drop more in like other barrels. Only having the full the basket full with charcoal and then adding some in a chimney starter makes it easy, and lighting with wax starters makes it a breeze. Ok but now the food! It turns out awesome! I'm a huge tri tip guy and have always done charcoal bbq the old school way years ago and more recent on propane grills. The smoker just blows them out of the water! Love changing the flavor based on the wood you add. Then RIBS!! OMG they are awesome! Smoke them to 190 degrees or so and they are awesome. Turkey and ham turns out juicy and flavorful! Best thanksgiving bird I?ve ever had! I dry brined the turkey for three days then smoked with a small water pan. Turkey was so juicy you don?t need gravy! No dry beast meat! I want to smoke another soon! The recipes on here make you smoke like a pro the first time! You?ll never bbq on a grill again! Well maybe for quick burgers and hot dogs. I bought a wireless meat thermometer, perfect for knowing the meat temp without opening the smoker.
Stars
By Chris Muxlow [Verified Owner] on November 27, 2018
5 STARS. NO COMMENT.
Stars
By Dennis [Verified Owner] on November 8, 2018
Love the way the BHC does its thing. I haven't had a bad meal that I cooked so far and I use it regularly. Turkey is next this week
Stars
By Michael [Verified Owner] on November 8, 2018
This thing is built like a tank, and the food comes out so delicious. Very easy to use, and almost dummy proof. Couldn?t be happier with this purchase.
Stars
By F.V. [Verified Owner] on November 8, 2018
I love my cooker and everything I cook on it I take pictures to show my friends & co-workers how good it comes out & taste awesome product wish I would have brought the bigger model but love the Hinged lid on the 14D if you ever update this model with the extension kit like on the 18C I would like that.
Stars
By Rick Haynes [Verified Owner] on October 25, 2018
Well built works great gonna do a turkey this weekend.
Stars
By S Bourg [Verified Owner] on October 17, 2018
cooked ribs could not mess it up damn thing is perfect for me!!!
Stars
By Jennifer [Verified Owner] on October 17, 2018
After reviewing both the pit barrel cooker and the barrel house cooker there wasn't a question I was going with barrel house for several reasons warranty, money back guarantee without a restocking fee, features, and cooking options. Price was great for what you get included only thing I would like to see is the cover being included that would have ended the comparison as I want to protect my investment. Overall barrel house won me over with the 14D had the 18 had all the same features I would have bought that no doubt. I can't say this product is durable or works because I don't have it in my possession but looking forward to cooking everything!!
Stars
By HOWARD [Verified Owner] on October 10, 2018
Ribs and Chicken turned out amazing. Can't believe how well it maintains temperature and how easy it is to use. Next on the list, tomorrow, is Tri-Tip.
Stars
By Richard [Verified Owner] on October 3, 2018
I have only had my 14D for 2 weeks but I have cooked wings, burgers, beef roast, pork roast, and potatoes so far. All the food turned out great with just the right amount of smokiness. Autumn weather is here and I have used it in conditions from calm to high wind and from 50 degrees to 95 degrees. In every case the barrel temps have remained nearly constant with no adjustments necessary. Truly set it and walk away. The features of the BHC - the barrel that separates from the fire chamber, the adjustability of the grates, the hinged lid, the design of the barrel itself, the design of the grates, hanger frames, and other accessories, and the ability to cook at different levels and with different methods, put this cooker in a class above the others which are not much more than a barrel with a fire in the bottom. The BHC is fuel efficient. After each cook I close the vents and the coals quickly die out and I can use them for the next time. Completely delighted with this cooker.
Stars
By Juan C [Verified Owner] on October 2, 2018
I been smoking for a few years now and have had my fair share of different smokers. The BHC is by far my favorite. Because of the size it is more fuel efficient, it's easy to clean and portable. The food comes off it great every time. For the price you get everything you need to start cooking right away. Best feature it comes with is the half rack. You can hang chicken or ribs on one side and grill veggies or tri-tip on the other side. You can buy another solid rack and drop it next level down to have more room for cooking. I say you get what you pay for and then some...
Stars
By Tim Robinson [Verified Owner] on September 28, 2018
I've had different types of smokers, mostly bullet types, for 20 years. I've enjoyed them all but the one failing of all was a consistent temperature hold. I've used my new 14D three times already for long smokes and not once did I need to add more charcoal. The temp remained at 250 for about 5 hours which was my longest cook. All of the meats smoked in it were perfectly cooked inside with a beautiful bark on the outside. The fact that I can set it and forget it is priceless!! If my Barrel House 14D got hit by a meteorite tonight I'd buy another first thing in the morning!!
Stars
By Mike [Verified Owner] on September 18, 2018
I'm really impressed with my 14D cooker. If you're cooking larger (length wise) items that need to be laid sideways at some point you may have to split them up prior to cooking. Thus far I've cooked a chicken, some ribs, and a Tri-tip, and have loved the results.
Stars
By Matt F on August 29, 2018
Simply a great concept and good design. Cooking made easy. Great results.
Stars
By Scott on August 8, 2018
We were introduced to barrel cooking by friends and began our search for a barrel cooker DIY kit. So happy the Barrel House popped up in my search. Done deal! The cooker is well made, versatile and comes with great accessories. We?re very pleased and would recommend this to anyone getting into barrel cooking.

Review Barrel House Cooker 14D