Free Shipping on Cookers. SHOP NOW

Barrel House Cooker 14D Reviews

Product Photo

Customer Reviews

Stars
187 Reviews, 4.95 out of 5 stars

Filter by:

Sorted by most recent reviews:

Stars
By Roger on December 4, 2018
I bought my barrel house in January for a Xmas present to myself. I LOVE this smoker!! First....the lower charcoal basket is the best! Easy access to the charcoal for long smokes to add wood and charcoal. Remove the top part and BOOM....access. No having to pull the food out and drop more in like other barrels. Only having the full the basket full with charcoal and then adding some in a chimney starter makes it easy, and lighting with wax starters makes it a breeze. Ok but now the food! It turns out awesome! I'm a huge tri tip guy and have always done charcoal bbq the old school way years ago and more recent on propane grills. The smoker just blows them out of the water! Love changing the flavor based on the wood you add. Then RIBS!! OMG they are awesome! Smoke them to 190 degrees or so and they are awesome. Turkey and ham turns out juicy and flavorful! Best thanksgiving bird I?ve ever had! I dry brined the turkey for three days then smoked with a small water pan. Turkey was so juicy you don?t need gravy! No dry beast meat! I want to smoke another soon! The recipes on here make you smoke like a pro the first time! You?ll never bbq on a grill again! Well maybe for quick burgers and hot dogs. I bought a wireless meat thermometer, perfect for knowing the meat temp without opening the smoker.
Stars
By Chris Muxlow [Verified Owner] on November 27, 2018
5 STARS. NO COMMENT.
Stars
By Dennis [Verified Owner] on November 8, 2018
Love the way the BHC does its thing. I haven't had a bad meal that I cooked so far and I use it regularly. Turkey is next this week
Stars
By Michael [Verified Owner] on November 8, 2018
This thing is built like a tank, and the food comes out so delicious. Very easy to use, and almost dummy proof. Couldn?t be happier with this purchase.
Stars
By F.V. [Verified Owner] on November 8, 2018
I love my cooker and everything I cook on it I take pictures to show my friends & co-workers how good it comes out & taste awesome product wish I would have brought the bigger model but love the Hinged lid on the 14D if you ever update this model with the extension kit like on the 18C I would like that.
Stars
By Rick Haynes [Verified Owner] on October 25, 2018
Well built works great gonna do a turkey this weekend.
Stars
By S Bourg [Verified Owner] on October 17, 2018
cooked ribs could not mess it up damn thing is perfect for me!!!
Stars
By Jennifer [Verified Owner] on October 17, 2018
After reviewing both the pit barrel cooker and the barrel house cooker there wasn't a question I was going with barrel house for several reasons warranty, money back guarantee without a restocking fee, features, and cooking options. Price was great for what you get included only thing I would like to see is the cover being included that would have ended the comparison as I want to protect my investment. Overall barrel house won me over with the 14D had the 18 had all the same features I would have bought that no doubt. I can't say this product is durable or works because I don't have it in my possession but looking forward to cooking everything!!
Stars
By HOWARD [Verified Owner] on October 10, 2018
Ribs and Chicken turned out amazing. Can't believe how well it maintains temperature and how easy it is to use. Next on the list, tomorrow, is Tri-Tip.
Stars
By Richard [Verified Owner] on October 3, 2018
I have only had my 14D for 2 weeks but I have cooked wings, burgers, beef roast, pork roast, and potatoes so far. All the food turned out great with just the right amount of smokiness. Autumn weather is here and I have used it in conditions from calm to high wind and from 50 degrees to 95 degrees. In every case the barrel temps have remained nearly constant with no adjustments necessary. Truly set it and walk away. The features of the BHC - the barrel that separates from the fire chamber, the adjustability of the grates, the hinged lid, the design of the barrel itself, the design of the grates, hanger frames, and other accessories, and the ability to cook at different levels and with different methods, put this cooker in a class above the others which are not much more than a barrel with a fire in the bottom. The BHC is fuel efficient. After each cook I close the vents and the coals quickly die out and I can use them for the next time. Completely delighted with this cooker.
Stars
By Juan C [Verified Owner] on October 2, 2018
I been smoking for a few years now and have had my fair share of different smokers. The BHC is by far my favorite. Because of the size it is more fuel efficient, it's easy to clean and portable. The food comes off it great every time. For the price you get everything you need to start cooking right away. Best feature it comes with is the half rack. You can hang chicken or ribs on one side and grill veggies or tri-tip on the other side. You can buy another solid rack and drop it next level down to have more room for cooking. I say you get what you pay for and then some...
Stars
By Tim Robinson [Verified Owner] on September 28, 2018
I've had different types of smokers, mostly bullet types, for 20 years. I've enjoyed them all but the one failing of all was a consistent temperature hold. I've used my new 14D three times already for long smokes and not once did I need to add more charcoal. The temp remained at 250 for about 5 hours which was my longest cook. All of the meats smoked in it were perfectly cooked inside with a beautiful bark on the outside. The fact that I can set it and forget it is priceless!! If my Barrel House 14D got hit by a meteorite tonight I'd buy another first thing in the morning!!
Stars
By Mike [Verified Owner] on September 18, 2018
I'm really impressed with my 14D cooker. If you're cooking larger (length wise) items that need to be laid sideways at some point you may have to split them up prior to cooking. Thus far I've cooked a chicken, some ribs, and a Tri-tip, and have loved the results.
Stars
By Matt F on August 29, 2018
Simply a great concept and good design. Cooking made easy. Great results.
Stars
By Scott on August 8, 2018
We were introduced to barrel cooking by friends and began our search for a barrel cooker DIY kit. So happy the Barrel House popped up in my search. Done deal! The cooker is well made, versatile and comes with great accessories. We?re very pleased and would recommend this to anyone getting into barrel cooking.
Stars
By [Verified Owner] on August 1, 2018
love this smoker! I took it right out of the box and was ready to go. Cooked 6 rack of ribs and they were a great hit.
Stars
By Byron Thompson [Verified Owner] on July 31, 2018
FIVE STARS. NO COMMENT.
Stars
By Jeff [Verified Owner] on July 29, 2018
I hate to admit it but I think I like the barrel house better than my expensive Yoder YS640 Competition.
Stars
By Mike [Verified Owner] on July 10, 2018
2 smokes. 2 whole chickens, 5 racks of ribs and 1 huge bone in pork loin. 0 leftovers.
Stars
By James Starr [Verified Owner] on July 10, 2018
I first purchased the 14D, cooked a whole chicken, hanging, and in spite of a misstep it turn out to be the best chicken I've ever cook. I will use it more than my grill or gas smoker because it's so easy to use and very little cleaning.
Stars
By Chef Eric Wells [Verified Owner] on July 7, 2018
I love the Barrel House Cooker. As a chef, I am always looking for innovative ways to prepare foods and this product brings it! For Independence Day, I smoked a pork butt for 5 hours to make pulled pork tacos. They were phenomenal! Thanks!!
Stars
By Michael on July 2, 2018
This smoker is insane! The meat just hanging while it was smoking leaving it juicy and tender. Can't wait to smoke a chicken, drumsticks, turkey, and quail! This is worth the price and more.!!!!
Stars
By DDuncan [Verified Owner] on June 22, 2018
Love it so far, three burger meals, two chicken breast, all tasty and juicy. Will get better @ using it cause its different than any other smokergrill I've used in the past.
Stars
By Sean T. Marzola [Verified Owner] on June 21, 2018
Wow... sooooooooooooo easy. On one hand I don't want to tell people how easy it is! But it just is. The taste? Amazing. We only used it once (just received it) but it was so good... we made 2 Turkey Breasts and a TriTip. Crazy good. We keep this product at our vacation home in the mountains... I don't think I'm pulling out the Weber again.
Stars
By Liz Weltzien [Verified Owner] on June 21, 2018
Super easy to set up and even easier to use! We love our smoker!!

Review Barrel House Cooker 14D